Recommendation: Music to Get You in the Mood

In the mood for Christmas (what were you thinking?). Yes, I’ve already started the Christmas music. I can’t help it. I was in the holiday mood before Halloween this year. It must be Alaska.

I love love love the Todd Agnew album, “Do You See What I See?”

I bought this a few years ago and have played the heck out of it (much longer than is seasonally appropriate) each year. I think one reason that I love it is because its not the traditional cheery, merry, Alvin-and-the-Chipmunks kind of album- so you can get away with it this early. Don’t get me wrong– I love the Chipmunks, too.

AND– it’s all about Jesus! Incredible!

Each track on the album is written from the perspective of a different character in the nativity story. I think it’s quite insightful.  “This is All I Have to Give” gives an account of Joseph wondering what he has to offer his new son:

I’d always hoped you’d have my eyes, maybe a little bit of the skill of my hands,
But, as I look into your eyes, I see your hands created mine.

This is all I have to give,
You can share my home and bear my name, but this is not how you should live,
The son of God has become the son of man – this is all I have to give.

 

“Did You Know” also got me thinking… Did Jesus always know that he was God? Did he look around and see the world he created? Or was it all new to him?

Were Mary’s the first eyes you saw
Or did You remember choosing that shade of brown?
Were You surprised at the shepherd’s crazy story
Or did You know You wrote the song the angels sang?

What was this life like for You?

Did You know?
Did the cross cast its shadow o’er your cradle?
Did You know?
Did You shudder each time Your hammer struck a nail?
Did you know?
How much heaven and how much earth
Were in this baby at His birth?
Did you know? Or did you wonder?

I am enthusiastic about this album because I think it breathes new life into a story that we have heard over and over. It allows us to enter into the story from a perspective that perhaps we have not considered. And really, it can’t be too early for that, right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Recommendations

Leave a Reply

