One of these things is not like the other

I am staring at a blank text box… having no idea what to write about. I could continue to bore you about how busy my life is– but so is yours! My life is no different. I’ve been given the same gift of 24 hours in a day. I get so frustrated when people feel that they are victims of their own schedules. So… here is me not complaining.

I asked Andy what I should write about and he said I should write about sex toys.

Imagine this scenario for a moment… There are 4 women at a table, enjoying a glass of wine and talking about the vintage and the fruity vanilla undertones of the wine and suddenly… BAM… the conversation takes a hairpin turn into comparisons of vibrators, bikini waxing, and buying batteries at Sam’s club. Imagine three women contributing to this conversation and exchanging advice. Now imagine me… the deer in the headlights. Smiling, wide-eyed, and praying that no one will ask me what I think.

WOW. What do you do in such a situation? I have no idea, obviously. I have found similar conversations happen when  certain groups of women get together. Needless to say, I have not encountered such conversations at women’s bible study at church. Ha.
The reason I am posting about this is because 1) It’s funny and 2) It’s a great example of how I feel “different” from a  lot of people. When I am with a group of people who aren’t Christians, I just feel… different. I know that’s sort of how it works but I feel like I have a hard time connecting. My life is so saturated in church that I find myself surprised when I see and hear what a lot of people are dealing with and talking about. But these relationships are important to me.  I love the time I spend with my friends “outside the walls”, but how do I balance being different and being with them.

What do you think Jesus did when he ate with Matthew and his buddies? I imagine that he met them where they were and did not compromise what he was about.

I’m working on that.

***Additional thought (7.20.09) This post is just one example of how lame I am.

I’m just sayin’

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Life

2 responses to “One of these things is not like the other

  1. Sarah

    I think Jesus would tell you to buy a
    vibrator . . .

  2. I can relate…

    just wanted you to know that you’re not alone!

Leave a Reply

