Inventory

IMG_1380

I think when you step back and examine your life, you call it “taking inventory”. Right? Well, that’s what I’m calling it. I’ve been taking inventory of my life. How much of me is there to go around? I just don’t want to be one of those women who try make everyone around them think that they are good moms because they just don’t have one single minute to themselves. That isn’t true. Even with kids– you make your own choices. I think we have a pretty good balance of time with E and grown-up time. But we’ve had to work at it. With some of my extra time, as you know, I’ve been doing a lot of baking. 🙂

That being said, I’ve sort of struck out into unknown waters for myself. I am selling cupcakes. Who knew? I’ve completed a few orders already and have been working on ways to get my name out in the community. I had a meeting last week with a woman from the university. She has great ideas, advice, and insight about small business in Fairbanks. She hooked me up with another small business woman and I am going to be selling at the farmer’s market this Saturday. That is exciting stuff! However… back to the inventory thing…

I don’t have enough room in my life right now to take on a small business that has weekly committments. I can’t do a booth at the market yet. I have a full time  (+) job, and a family that I actually like to hang out with. So… I am working at the market this Saturday and I will see how it goes. I would like to just take orders now and then, but I need a way to get people to taste these little guys. Maybe a holiday bazaar or two this Fall. That will be enough, for now.

However exciting all of this is, I have other committments in my life that come first. Family. Ministry Stuff. My own sanity.

I know there are things that I need to get done in ministry at Zion. Even after 6 years, those things remain unclear, but I just know that I’m not finished there. So I need to focus. I can still do the baking that I love… I just need to be careful about how much I take on at once.

My hope is that no one else takes over the cupcake market before I’m ready to really run with it. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes, Life

2 responses to “Inventory

  1. Sarah

    You’re so cool! I would love to go to your market and see you at your little booth. I can’t wait for you to be ready to run with it, but you’re right, anything that’s going to last is worth being patient for.

  2. holeinhead

    i am so impressed and so jealous:) your drive, creativity, and togetherness have me in awe….btw what job did you apply for?

Leave a Reply

