It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood…

The last couple of weeks have been a whirlwind of activity. I am dizzy just thinking about it.

Last week I was in the Twin Cities and on Thursday the 11th I completed my DCE certification interview. It went really well. My presentation went great. The questioning was hard. They asked some really tough questions and got down to some of my what Max Lucado calls DTP’s (destructive though processes). It was very affirming as a whole. I passed my OT & NT tests and felt like I went back to Fairbanks with the blessing of people who I really respect in ministy.

I also got to spend a lot of time with Kali which was awesome. I got to stay in the dorms with her. It was a good time. Got to have a couple of beers and talk theology with some of her friends. It was quality time. I also got to hang out with a couple of friends. Dinner with Lindsey and library emailing with Kevin. Also I got to catch up with Gwen. Good times. Friday night was graduation for Kali. I am so proud of her! I can’t wait to visit her on her internship! Friday was also a crazy day of grandparents, parents, and more craziness. But it was great to see all of them.

Saturday afternoon I was back in Fairbanks. PJ’s farewell dinner was lots of fun. We roasted him. There were endless bald jokes and cracks about marathon prayers. I think he appreciated it. Great turn out. I hope it was affirming of their ministry.

This week has been BUSY! Getting ready to leave for the Gulf Coast Mission trip tomorrow evening has been wild. Getting summer programming in order before I leave. Wow. And we are moving June 1st. Pray that Andy isn’t overwhelmed!

So all this finishing school already has me thinking about “What next?” Andy had a great suggestion that I get my teaching certificate at UAF. Then my GPA can be boosted and I could get into a better Master’s program when I’m ready. All of my certification interviewers suggested that I do my Master’s in Theology. Yikes. Not sure that I’m ready to commit to something like that yet. But I am very interested in getting my teaching certificate. I would like to classroom teach sometime in the future. I definately am not ready to leave Zion any time soon, but it would be nice to know I have that option someday.

Anyhow… lots to think about and prepare for. I have to get ready for this trip… Ugghhhh… 90 degrees and humid. Lord help us.

peace & carrots

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood…

  1. Jayme

    it gets to be 90 degrees in alaska? i thought it was cold all the time! lol

    God be with you on your trip
    Deut. 31:8

  2. tiapugh

    no no no.. i guess it could get to be 90 here… it will be 90 down there… silly.

  3. Derek

    Just a correction… it will be 90 but it hasn’t been humid yet, at least a little further around the coast to Florida… it’s been a scary brushfire kinda dry. Have a good, safe trip. Are you in LA or MS?

Leave a Reply

