Me & Jesus for 45 minutes

I have the “opportunity” (or I have to) give a 45 minute presentation next Thursday at 10:30am (central) on how God has impacted my life, how I got to the point I’m at now, and how I see my ministry as a DCE. Wow. This presentation is part of my DCE certification interview. I am preparing and freaking out only about every 5 hours now. I could use some prayers. Certification has been this far away thing that I would… get around to. Well, its here. I hope I’m ready.

Other things… Andy & I are moving soon. Less than three weeks. Hurray! We are also on an aggressive savings plan so that we can buy some land to build our house. I’ve made copies of the floor plan and hung it in the bathroom. I might make a mini copy and paste it to my check card. That might be more effective. 🙂 Hopefully we will be able to buy some land before next summer. I’m excited about the idea of that. I’m not sure if I love the idea of cutting my own lawn, cleaning my own gutters, and having to fix my own broken stuff… but ehh… I think we can handle it.

We’re also planning a trip down to CA in November. Can you tell I’m excited (6 months early)? It will be a really fun trip. We’ll get to go to the Youth Specialties conference and go visit Kali on her internship. And visit wine country… did I mention that? I will also get to see Jayme that week too. SO EXCITING! I miss friends I can just hang out and do nothing with. You know? Like you call and say “Hey what are you doing? Can I come over?” There is no debate about what are we going to do? where should we go? where should we meet? No… you just hang out. I miss that. I mean Andy is awesome and I love spending time with him, but I miss girl friends. Haven’t quite found that group here… they are either still going out to bars or having babies. Yikes.

Anyhow… things are good. May is the craziest month ever. I am pretty overwhelmed. I could use some prayer on that too. That I work smarter, not harder. That is my mantra these days.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Me & Jesus for 45 minutes

  1. Jayme

    I know how scary it is, but just remember…you are speaking from your heart and you can’t go wrong with that….plus think of all the others who have been certified…there are definitely some out there that make you wonder….and if they can pass…why would they let a wonder like you go? You are an amazing DCE and God has gifted you with such a heart for ministry…trust in that! “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Phil. 1:6

  2. garfodie81

    Amen on the finding girl friends. Most of the girls my age around here have kids AND go to bars all the time. 😉

  3. Sally

    I have to second Jayme’s comment about your interview. I know I was nervous coming up to mine, but when it actually took place, I wasn’t nervous. I realized what a celebration it was of everything that I had learned, not being drilled by someone who wants you to fail. These are people who care about you and want you to succeed. It’s an opportunity to show what you’ve accomplished in school, on internship, and where you are at now. I have no doubt that you will do an absolutely fantastic job!

  4. Lindsey

    I am jealous about Cali…fun times with Jayme!!!

Leave a Reply

